Peter Marinker: Robert W Service: From the gold fields to the battle fields - The war poetry of Robert Service.

Saturday April 21st

Robert Service is best known for his accessible money-spinning verse like The Cremation of Sam McGee and The Klondike Gold Rush. In 1912 he left The Yukon, married a French woman and then served as an ambulance driver for The American Red Cross during WW1. Less well known, but equally engaging are verses written ‘from the thick of it’ – tales of the ordinary soldier -  from ‘kilted jocks’ to the gallant French infantry. In the tradition of Burns, Service was above all a people’s poet, his eye for detail and narrative mastery enabling him to bridge the spheres of popular and literary imagination.

1.30 – 2.30 Mill on the Fleet  £ 5.00

Book now